Skip to content

An apron for Water Play

March 12, 2012

The WATER PLAY apron (and more)!

diy handmade waterproof apron smock for water playR has a thing for standing at the sink and playing with the water for hours.  We put the water on a trickle (we don’t want to waste water!) and she will play putting water in cups and transferring them back and forth, “washing dishes” and who knows what else!

O f course, she usually ends up soaking wet after these over seas adventures.

So I decided to make her a water proof apron for these activities.

I used a vinyl tablecloth that I found for sale at Bed Bath and Beyond (she loves “polky dots” these days), and used an Ikea long sleeve bib as a model.  I just lengthened it for better coverage.

I started off by making a pattern for the apron.  This is something I never do, but I figured I may want to make more aprons soon!

THe sleeve pieces were tricky – I was kind of improvising and didn’ really know what I was doing.

The arm holes ended up being tighter than I would have liked, so I’ll have to adjust that for next time.

These are my front and back pieces…

And then the arms, cuffs, and pocket.

Then I basically:

1) sewed the shoulder seams together of the front and back pieces

2) attached the sleeves to the arm holes

3) sewed the cuffs to the tips of the sleeves

4)  sewed straight from sleeve cuff to the bottom of the apron on each side

5) sewed velcro to the back pieces for closure

6) sewed the pocket onto the front,

and lastly,

7) used store bought extra wide double fold bias tape and sewed that all around the edges.


Voila!

A fun apron!

I made the sleeves long so this could grow with her, so for now I end up rolling up the cuffs.  But it is no biggie.

This is a picture of the velcro – I made sure to put the hard/rough velcro on the side facing AWAY from R when wearing it so that it wouldn’t accidentally rub against her skin.

Hope you like it – give it a try!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 17, 2012 9:31 PM

    Wow you are talented!!

Leave a comment