Skip to content
My first ever Spring Top Sew Along

May 4, 2013

I think it has been what, 5 months since I’ve written anything? Yeesh!

I have had several posts in the works…and never have time to finish them…

Well, this year, for the first time, I made myself a top! And just in time for Rae’s Spring Top Sew Along!

This is a fabric that I have actually bought twice. At two separate times.  Not realizing that I had bought it the first time! I guess I liked it… =)

I modeled the shirt after a simple top I got from India on a recent trip (more on that later!). It was challenging, but I made it through, and am happy with the result.  It has pin tucks in the front to allow for extra fabric to camouflage the post baby tummy (an ESSENTIAL these days..and probably for all days to come…).

As usual, I was making this shirt as a last minute thing, so was using stuff I already had.  I used bias tape to finish the arm holes, but the only color I had was the kakhi you can see peeping our of the arm hole… Not ideal, but it does the job…

I messed up a bit on the pin tucks.  The first time around I made them too long, which meant the shirt was a tad bit too tight around the tummy.  So I had to go back and open each open up from the bottom, and then sew the bottom again to lock the stitches. UGH. That was a pain!

And at the last minute, I added a couple of pleats in the back…and then I was done!

(I totally flaked on the collar.  I couldn’t take spending any more time, so I just turned it down and sewed it into place.  Not the cleanest or coolest looking…but again, it works!)


Fortunately, I was able to get some good pics of the kiddos too!

You can see some other great tops in Rae’s flickr pool!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. dandeliondrift permalink
    May 6, 2013 12:07 AM

    I like the pin tucks! Nice detail!

    • May 6, 2013 1:38 AM

      Hi – thanks for the comment! I thought the limericks would be a different way to incorporate pleats. Glad u like it!

    • May 14, 2013 1:21 AM

      Thanks dandeliondrift!

  2. Aryka permalink
    June 1, 2013 3:40 PM

    Really neat shirt! Looks great on you. How do you get it on and off? It looks so fitted, am I missing a side closure?

    • June 8, 2013 9:00 AM

      Thanks! You are right, there is no side closure. I just put it on over my head – works fine surprisingly!

Leave a Reply

  • Archives

  • A Note

    All pictures on this site are copyrighted by JAS Photography LLC - unless they were borrowed from another bog or site - in which case the image will link back to the original site. Please do NOT use any pictures with my family in them on any site or anywhere else. Thank you.
