Skip to content

Project #1: The Growth Chart

February 23, 2012

Ok, so I have finished designing my growth chart!

I am waiting for my photo paper roll to come in so I can print it…but here it is:

gray and yellow elephant growth chart

I made the whole thing in Adobe Illustrator – drawing everything from scratch.  That was not my original intention…but that’s how it goes, right?

I’m going to use that graphic at the top of the 4 elephants (supposed to be our family) on our birth announcements and thank you cards as well.

I got the idea from this card:

As you can see it is similar, but not exactly the same.  Hmmm…Maybe I’ll make the baby elephant yellow like in this one…I like the way it stands out…

I couldn’t resist making the hearts as well.  They add a really cute, whimsical touch!

I actually had a slightly different version I was working on as well:

But then I decided I wanted our 3 year old daughter represented in the graphic as well.  Even then, I first drew a second elephant with its trunk curved down as well, but then changed it to make the slightly larger sibling with her trunk above the baby to make them stand apart.

This was my original plan:

And then I tried to put an elephant in their trunks kind of like a cradle, but it didn’t work so well.  It looked too stiff, and I couldn’t really figure out how to make it look like it was cradled or sitting…I guess elephants don’t really sit, do they?

I hope it turns out well!  I’m debating putting a texture effect on it in Photoshop to make the elephants look a little bit more worn…but I’m not sure…we’ll see!

Any suggestions for changes before I print??

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Julie permalink
    August 9, 2012 7:29 AM

    Do you sell your art or your design for the birth announcements and thank yous?? I would love to use this as our family will grow to 4 in another week or so an just love what you have done!! We are also using gray and yellow for the room colors so this would be perfect. Let me know either way…Thanks!

    • August 9, 2012 8:47 AM

      Hi there Julie – thanks for your comment – I’m glad you like the my designs! But more importantly, congratulations on the upcoming addition to your family! Good luck – I hope it all goes well! I would be happy to sell you customized designs for your nursery. If you tell me what you would like on each item, I can put in the text and then sell you the PDF that is ready to print. Just let me know what you are interested in, specifically, and I can give you a price. In addition to the announcement design and the thank you notes, i also made return address labels to match (which you can use for both!). As far as the growth chart, finding a place to print it is kind of tricky. I actually have an extra one that I printed and could sell you that if you are interested (it is just the image printed – it still needs to be attached to something to hang from on top and weight it down on the bottom). Otherwise I could also sell you that PDF and you could print it on your own as well. Lastly, I also have the wall art that I made that I could sell you (i posted about that here).

      Let me know and I can create a whole package for you. I have an etsy shop and can make a listing for you there.

      Thanks again for your interest!
      Subha

  2. kelly permalink
    October 5, 2012 7:49 PM

    I am interested in a growth chart with the 3 elephant design at top. Let me know if this is something you could do.

    Thanks

    • October 9, 2012 10:13 PM

      Hi there kelly

      I actually do have a couple of extra prints of the growth chart that i could send you. I would be happy to send it to you for minimal cost of printing, shipping etc. Let me just figure out how I would ship it and what that would cost and get back to you.

      thanks!
      subha

  3. Kelly permalink
    October 17, 2012 5:50 PM

    Thanks so much! I would be glad to send you a cashier’s check or money order in advance of the shipment. Do you have an extra with only 3 elephant’s on top? If not that is okay, My husband and I our adopting our first child and will only have 3 in the family but if you only have the one of 4 that is fine too!

    Thanks, the groth chart will go perfect in our nursery.

    Kelly

  4. Danijela permalink
    November 28, 2012 10:54 AM

    Hi there!

    I love your growth chart! I was looking for something just like it in the same color scheme but with 3 elephants. Is it possible to order from you? If so what is needed? Thanks very much!!! Danijela

Leave a comment